My New Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies

12 Oct

I feel like I’ve just been going crazy with the cake batter lately, but I can’t help it. Those truffles were so good, and cake batter is, after all, one of the most delicious things ever; I tend to enjoy it more than the actual baked cakes, most of the time. And maybe that has to do with the nostalgia that flows in with memories of my sister and I baking with my mom growing up. I would plot ways in which I could empty the batter into the baking pan whilst leaving as maximum an amount as possible left for us to eat. But yes… regardless of the reason, it is a flavor I not only find immensely delicious, but am deeply attached to as well, and so whenever the chance arrives to combine the flavor with any other equally delicious baked goods, I jump at it.

Enter these Cake Batter Cookies I found the other day. THEY. ARE. PHENOMENAL. My favorite part about them? Is it how freaking amazingly they taste exactly like cake batter? Is how they somehow managed to develop a nice, perfect cookie-textured “crust” on the outside, while being soft and fluffy like a cake on the inside? As awesome as both of those things are… the answer is no.

My FAVORITE thing about these cookies is their simplicity. While I do enjoy on occasion experimenting in being a ‘foodie’ and trying out seemingly complex dishes with often ‘obscure’ ingredients, I cannot help but relish in simple recipes as well. I feel like, when I was growing up, there was a big to-do over completely homemade vs. boxed treats. When I was in high school, I remember what the mom of my boyfriend at the time said to me: “It really doesn’t matter if the cake you make comes from a box or not. So what if you use flour and sugar, you just end up with the exact same thing anyway.” And for the most part, I think she’s right. And I firmly believe there should be no shame in baking with pre-boxed ingredients. I found a baking blog the other day containing what seem to me very difficult recipes (which are fun to indulge in for special occasions and the like). I look forward excitedly to trying some of them out (there are a few of her cupcake recipes I’m considering tackling for my husband’s birthday at the end of this month!), but more often than not, many people want something that tastes fabulous while not taking a ton of time to make. And that’s where these cookies come in. 5 ingredients. 30 minutes TOPS start to finish. Cookie texture with the delicious cake taste. It really does not get much better than this.

Cake Batter Cookies
(via Stephanie Cooks via All Recipes)

What you need:

  • 1 (18.25 oz.) box Yellow Super-Moist Cake Mix
  • 1 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/2 cup Vegetable Oil
  • 1 cup Semisweet Chocolate Chips (I actually use the Ghirardelli Milks Chocolate Chips and I am never disappointed with them)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

2. In a medium bowl, stir together the cake mix and baking powder. Add eggs and oil, then mix until well blended.

3. Stir in chocolate chips, or your choice of additions. Drop by rounded spoonfuls onto cookie sheets.

4. Bake for 10 minutes in the preheated oven.  Allow cookies to cool on baking sheets for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

The woman at Stephanie Cooks said the batter was crumbly and not smooth for her, but I did not have this problem at all. In fact, I encountered quite the opposite (as you can probably tell from the picture). My dough was VERY smooth, so much so I was worried it would be too smooth and not cook like a cookie. I think I ended up cooking them for 11-12 minutes out of fear of that, but once they settled and cooled off, they developed that external cookie shell that they needed (while still being fluffy and cake-y on the inside), and turned out PERFECTLY!

The other thing I love about this recipe, as with most cake batter recipes, is the versatility. You could ice these if you wanted to, to add even more authentic ‘cakeness’ to them. Or you can use ANY cake mix for any flavor you want. Other ones I VERY much look forward to trying to make are:

  • Red Velvet + White Chocolate Chips
  • Strawberry + White (or dark) Chocolate Chips
  • Lemon + White Chocolate Chips (or no chocolate chips!)
  • Chocolate + White/Milk/Semisweet/Dark Chips

I mean, you get the idea. The list is extensive, so feel free to play around with it! Let me know if you try any other fun combinations, and how they turn out!

Comment!

