Pumpkin Krispies!

19 Sep

These are another magnificent treat that, after snacking on them for a whole week and not sharing with anyone at my husband’s office because I loved them THAT MUCH, I took to share with our Ultimate team. As much as I WANTED to eat the rest of them myself, I had to resist that urge more strongly than I ever had any urge thus far in my relatively short life, and let me tell you, it was very difficult. I’ve already established my adoration for fall flavored pumpkin treats, and pairing that with the ever simple Rice Krispie Treat was just ingenious; obviously I was in love from the very first nibble.

My health is very important to me, and I indulged in way too many treats last week. Yes, I made the truffles, the brownies, and these all in the same week :X not particularly wise, but eh… I was bored? which I found to be such a shame, because I didn’t get to eat as many of them as I WISH I had. I don’t like wasting, especially when ingrediants are expensive, as the white chocolate was for the truffles. Therefore, I cut out one treat with my pumpkin shaped cookie cutter and topped it with the remaining bit of white chocolate and orange sprinkels. Orange sprinkles obviously because it was near impossible to even tell that was a pumpkin and not just a circle, ESPECIALLY after I put the chocolate on it. Yeah… didn’t work out as well as I’d hoped, but I enjoyed it nonetheless!

Browned Butter Pumpkin Spice Rice Krispie Treats
(from Cookies and Cups – She has fabulous pictures!)

What you need:

  • 1/4 cup salted butter
  • 1 (10.5) oz bag mini marshmallows
  • 6 cups Rice Krispie cereal
  • 1 teaspoon Pumpkin Pie Spice

Directions:

1. Spray 9×9 pan with non-stick spray.

2. Over med-low heat melt your butter.

3. Once your butter is melted, continue to cook until butter starts to brown (it will turn a golden brown color and develop a nutty aroma). Be careful not to burn (once the butter begins to brown it can burn quickly). Stir up any brown bits.

4. Add the marshmallows and pumpkin pie spice. Stir until marshmallows are melted.

5. Remove from heat and stir in rice krispies.

6. When mixed spread the krispie mixture in your prepared pan. Spray a sheet of wax paper or parchment with non-stick spray and gently press the krispies down evenly. Let cool for 30 minutes and then cut into squares.

These taste divine. The amount of pumpkin spice called for is perfect – not overwhelming at all, adds just enough hint of pumpkin and spiciness to make this simple treat far more gourmet than I’ve tasted it done yet. The spice compliments the softness of the delicate marshmallows so well. You get all the taste benefits of heavier pumpkin pie in a more light and airy package that you feel completely guiltless for eating squares and squares of! And right there, you can now see my dilemma! I actually bought enough supplies to make 2 sets of Rice Krispie Treats, these and a set of cake batter flavored ones. I am still undecided if the cake batter ones will be getting made… There is a massive desire in me to just made another batch of these!! I still can’t believe Rice Krispie doens’t actually sell these come fall time… I feel like they would surely make a fortune if they did…

After this past week being so full of baking, I’ve fallen behind on my cooking recipes! So expect to me to catch up on those as I take a small break from baking. Time to focus on the healthier things again! Aside from the mock Chick-fil-A nuggets I made the other night… but those will have their own post!

Comment!

