Truffles!

14 Sep

Apologies for the late update! It was a very busy and eventful weekend, to say the least, but I am back! AND I am also fairly new to making truffles. It is an art that had intimidated me quite a bit, up until recently; they just always SEEMED difficult to make, an assumption based largely in the fact that I associate truffles as having very creamy, non-solid centers. I am slowly realizing that this is not the case, and there are many truffle recipes that contain more solid centers (which, for me, is much less scary to try and work with)! Making that cake last week reminded me of something I had long forgotten (as it’s been a while since I’ve made any cakes): I. LOVE. CAKE BATTER. More than any taste in the world. The flavors, and the whole experience of licking the spatula clean, really took me back to my childhood when my sister and I would help my mom bake cakes, and how DELICIOUS it was to eat the leftover batter. Yummmm. I got nostalgic, to the say the least, and went on a search for some cake batter recipes!

I found two recipes for cake batter truffles. The first one I made was alright. I didn’t like them much – I thought they were too dry and struggled to get them moist enough, and the taste seemed… off – but they were a HUGE hit at my husband’s work regardless (even the higher-ups kept searching him out to have more)! Unpleased with those, I then tried a second recipe, which worked out MUCH better.

These truffles are perfectly moist and taste exactly like the delicious cake batter most people love and adore consuming (without all the raw eggs and oils)! They are AMAZING. And I feel like the possibility of combinations between cake flavors and chocolate shells are so numerous, I could spend weeks making variations of these. For now, though, I started with my own personal favorite flavor combination: Yellow Cake with Vanilla frosting! But I guess white chocolate is close enough?

Cake Batter Truffles
(as adapted from The Girl Who Ate Everything)

What you need:

  • 1 ½ cups flour
  • 1 cup yellow cake mix
  • ½ cup unsalted butter, softened
  • ½ cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 4 Tablespoons milk
  • 16 ounces of white chocolate (I used 4 4oz bars of Ghirardelli White Baking Chocolate)
  • Sprinkles!!!

1. Beat together butter and sugar using an electric mixer until combined. Add cake mix, flour, salt, and vanilla and mix thoroughly. Add 3 Tablespoons of milk or more if needed to make a dough consistency. Mix in your desired amount of sprinkles by hand. Roll dough into no bigger than one inch balls (because they grow in size when you dip them in the chocolate) and place on a parchment or wax paper lined cookie sheet.

2. Chill balls in the refrigerator for 15 minutes to firm up.

3. While dough balls are chilling, melt the white chocolate per the directions on the packaging. I prefer the microwave method. Break up all the squares of chocolate and put them in a larger microwave-safe bowl. Heat for 1.h minutes on 50% power. Stir. If chocolate is still not all melted, continue to heat in 30 second intervals until chocolate melts, stirring in between. Only heat until it is to the point where all of the chocolate will melt via stirring it. If it is too hot, let it cool before you dip the truffles in it so that the temperature difference is not so huge between the chilled balls and the chocolate. Using a fork, dip truffles into chocolate and shake of excess by tapping the bottom of the fork on the side of your bowl. Place truffle back on the cookie sheet and top with sprinkles. Repeat with remaining balls until finished.

4. Chill cake batter truffles in the refrigerator until serving. Makes around 30-40 truffles.

I know the directions call for tapping the excess, but I’ve come to find I enjoy my truffles with a slightly messed look to them, rather than perfectly coated and round. I’ve also still yet to have success at using any object other than my own fingers when it comes to dipping the truffles, so really, just do what’s best for you. These are DELICIOUS and take almost no time at all. Try them out!

Per suggestion of many strangers who have enjoyed these treats, I am considering selling them on Etsy as wedding favors or treats! Wish me luck!!

Comment!

